Board of Trustees

The Midlands Technical College Foundation provides the structure through which individuals, corporations and other private sector interests can demonstrate their support for the academic programs and economic development services offered by Midlands Technical College.

Established in 1970, the Foundation takes an active partnership role in advancing the college's community development mission within the Central Midlands region by seeking an added measure of financial and other support for college activities that enhance the quality of its educational offerings. In carrying out this role, the Foundation's Board of Trustees gives testimony to the realization that for excellence in service to be consistently achieved and maintained, private sector resources represent a critical and invaluable complement to limited public funding.

The Board of Trustees for the Foundation is composed of up to 25 individuals who are prominent in our community's business, industrial, professional and civic affairs.

Joe Johnson, Chair Palmetto GBA
Scott R. Adams, Vice Chair TriolP, Inc.
Gwen Hampton, Secretary South Carolina School Board Association 
R. Scott McClelland, Treasurer Elliott Davis, LLC
Barbara W. Blau DP Professionals
James L. (Jim) Braun AVANTech, Inc.
Robert (Rob) Brinkerhoff Palmetto Health
David E. Dubberly Nexsen Pruet
Ryan Dukes Blue Marlin Restaurant and Blue Marlin Signature Catering 
Judge Tomothy C. Edmond Chief Magistrate for Richland County
Solomon Jackson, Jr. Retired
William (Bill) D. Kirkland University of South Carolina
Marion A. (Lex) Knox, Jr. Terminix Services, Inc.
Willis Langley, III Langley, III, LLC
Ernest (Ernie) Magaro, Jr. Retired
Ernest (Ernie) Magaro, III Retired
Joseph (Joe) Powers Merrill Lynch
Gerald (Jerry) Sweetland PurePower Technologies
Michael (Mike) Williams Michelin North America
David Woolard Midlands Tooling Systems, Inc.
Trustee Emeritus  
Thomas (Tom) E. Persons, Sr. S.C. Technology Alliance
James (Jim) D. Reynolds Total Comfort Solutions
Ex Officio  
Dr. Ronald L. Rhames MTC President
Robert P. Wilkins, Jr. MTC Commission Chair
Jack Hoekstra CEO,  MTC Foundation
Debbie M. Walker VP for Business Affairs, MTC

Fast Fact

The Midlands Technical College Foundation awarded nearly $100,000 to scholarships for 2017-2018.

How much can you save?

Compare MTC to:

MTC can save you


In your first year*

* Total tuition and fees (most current data available as of August 2017). Source: U.S. News & World Report Best Colleges rankings and "IPEDS Student Financial Aid Component Overview Public Academic Reporters."