Back to News List

Real Recognition: MTC Instructors Honored for Innovation

Twelve MTC faculty receive national recognition for outstanding contributions and leadership.

Twelve members of the Midlands Technical College (MTC) faculty have been named recipients of the John and Suanne Roueche Excellence Award. The awards are presented annually by the League for Innovation to select two-year college faculty and staff celebrating their outstanding contributions and leadership.

“Congratulations to these dedicated faculty members,” said MTC President Dr. Ronald L. Rhames. “I cannot overstate the tremendous impact these twelve honorees have on students. Their commitment to innovation makes learning interesting and engaging.”

The League for Innovation in the Community College is a consortium of almost 500 community colleges dedicated to cultivating innovative practice and excellence in community colleges. The League established the John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards as a tribute to outstanding faculty and staff. The MTC award winners are:

  • Jean Killey, Business and Public Service
  • Regina Presnell, Developmental Studies
  • Keith Quigley, Engineering Technology
  • Mark Sutton, English
  • Susan Teeter, Health Sciences
  • Mal Reeder, Humanities
  • Carson Conner, Industrial Technologies
  • Ben Poston, Information Systems Technology
  • Rose Jenkins, Math
  • Doris Chaplin, Nursing
  • Stephanie Muga, Science
  • John Wesley Clark, Social and Behavioral Science

Carson Conner and Rose Jenkins will represent MTC at the League’s Innovations Conference in Washington, D.C. this month. This international event provides a forum for collaboration among academic experts and thought leaders, while granting participants exclusive access to the most inventive and inspirational community college programs from around the world.

“We are always looking for better ways to educate students through the use of innovation and technology in the classroom,” said Rhames. “MTC’s faculty are the foundation of the college’s reputation for academic excellence. I’m proud of our winners and all of our faculty who dedicate their life to excellence in teaching and learning.”

Learn more about the League for Innovation and the John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards here.